Stillness is the key

Oh my god, I just realized that my last post here is more than 10 months ago. I am sure most of the people who used to read this blog might have forgotten my existence (sorry, my blog’s existence) which is totally fair. We all have limited attention capability, and with everything happening around the world, one less blog post might be a blessing. But I am back. Because I started missing this little place. I haven’t stopped reading books or filling up my sketchbook or attempting to make my life simpler and sensible. It is only that I have stopped writing about it here. Today, the bug is back. So bad that I had this thought during meditation to restart working on my blog, and I couldn’t stop that train of thought any longer. I stopped my guided meditation 3.49 minutes before it was about to end. No point to continue when my thoughts are elsewhere anyway.

You have to bear with me. Here is my post.

This is unedited. I am not looking for a perfect blog post or trying to write a glorious book review. This is raw.

Well, the book that recently caught my attention and held it for a good week or two is “Stillness is the key” by Ryan Holiday. I don’t remember adding it to my library hold list but, when I started reading it, I thanked my past self. This book is wonderful and was exactly what I needed when I was reading it. Universe seems to be helping me. It is a great collection of insights from multiple philosophers and thought leaders on how slowing down is the best way to move ahead. Taking time, having quiet moments, managing emotions and doing the right thing – this book talks about all the right things.

I liked this book so much that I wanted to buy copies of it and gift it to a few of my colleagues as a Christmas gift. This is the season. Isn’t it?

Signing off for now. Husband is playing Sleepless in Seattle on Netflix tonight. Got to watch it. Bye.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.